Smokeless Tobacco

Smokeless tobacco is placed inside the mouth. Because tobacco has a rather unpleasant taste, it is often sweetened with sugars and various flavorings, like mint and cherry. The three types of smokeless tobacco available are snuff, chew, and plug.

Snuff is a ground-up, moist tobacco. It is placed between the gum, and the bottom or top lip. This kind of tobacco use is often referred to as “dipping”.

Chew is shredded tobacco leaves. As the name suggests, it is placed in the side of the mouth and chewed.

Plug tobacco is shredded tobacco leaves pressed into a hard block. The plug is then placed between the cheek and gum.

Various tobacco plants are harvested for use in cigarettes, cigars, pipe tobacco, and smokeless tobacco. Smokeless tobacco is made from several different tobacco types:

Fire-cured tobacco. Grown in Kentucky, Tennessee, and Virginia.

Dark air-cured tobacco. Grown in Kentucky, Tennessee, and Virginia.

Flue-cured tobacco. Grown in Alabama, North and South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, and Virginia.

Burley air-cured tobacco. Grown in Indiana, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, and Virginia.

Tobacco was introduced to early European settlers by the Native Americans. By 1860, the states of Virginia and North Carolina alone had 348 factories producing chewing tobacco. At the time, cigarettes were only a by-product.

In the 1900’s, the popularity of cigarettes rose while smokeless tobacco’s popularity declined over the years. Today, smokeless tobacco still has a strong market in the south-eastern US states.